New year or New You?



Hey loves hope everyone had a good new year and many happy returns from me. I had a great new year I spent it in church with my family and my significant other so it was truly blessed. Today I feel like sharing a little bit about why I think New Year’s resolutions should be any time resolutions. The reason that I’m saying that is because I think you don’t necessarily have to be at the beginning of a new year to start something new and major in your life. I also think that new years may not necessarily be the time to make these ‘resolutions’ as we are so prone to breaking them.  It’s my belief that whenever the inspiration takes you be it midyear or New Year you need to go ahead and make that leap. Life is too short to say ill do it tomorrow or I have time. For me my goal which I started last year is being more physical (exercise) and more spiritual. Finding myself closer to God and getting my body right. Which kind of go hand in hand. I’ve come to the realization that I need a change and feel like this is the right time to do it. So don’t let anyone discourage you if you decide to make a change. A lot of the time people tend to find the most negative or discouraging things to say to break you down when you’ve decided to do something positive for yourself. In my opinion that always happens. It seems like whenever you decide to make a change the world takes note and wants to bring you down. That’s why self motivation is the key, there’s a famous quote that I love because I never really understood it until I learned to love myself ( yes I had to LEARN how to do that ). Its from Marrianne Williamsons book, A Return To Love: Reflections on the Principles of A Course in Miracles, it goes,
“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”
Yes I know this is a really long quote but it resonates with what a lot of us feel sometimes. We are the only ones stopping ourselves from greatness. It’s there waiting and all we have to do is grab it. I decided that I am grabbing mine, are you?

Leave a Reply

